Everything Solar Forum

communities_1.jpg

View Only
  • 1.  Energy storage - Battery v. Flywheel

Posted 09-09-2021 06:35 PM
    I know very llitle about this but Irecall that very high amounts of energy (momentum) can be st;ored on flywheels, very large heavy disks that spin at high rpm, on axles supported on ball bearings, in an enclosed container (do not want this thing to fly apart out in the open) and the container is air evacuated to near vacuum. Very little friction loss. How could this be used? Stationary Vehicles. I know not from whence I speak; I am a lawyer, not an engineer. I would like to hear any thoughts on this.    

• 2.  RE: Energy storage - Battery v. Flywheel

ASES Life Member
    Posted 09-10-2021 09:15 AM
    The technology is more or less set, the economy requires scale-up. The challenge is providing a positive regulatory environment thru rate setting to accommodate this relatively narrow but vital niche. Regulators are still in an embryonic state on this policy. This may be where your legal skillset can come into play. PS, the answer can be both.--
    Mark Burger

Follow me on Linkedin and Twitter #markburgerenerg

• 3.  RE: Energy storage - Battery v. Flywheel

Posted 09-10-2021 09:30 AM
    My understanding is that despite efforts to minimize losses (e.g., air cushion bearings) it still takes a lot of energy to keep a massive flywheel spinning - and to spin it back up after being depleted. As such, this technology is more appropriate for smoothing loads in large scale systems with batteries or other systems still providing the deep energy storage. Different technologies are applicable to different systems. Energy storage will take different forms dependent upon the situation. Kinetic energy storage will likely play its biggest role in assuring power quality

------------------------------
    Tracy Dahl
    Polarsolar@hughes.net

• 4.  RE: Energy storage - Battery v. Flywheel

ASES Life Member
    Posted 09-10-2021 09:37 AM