Everything Solar Forum

communities_1.jpg

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

What's wrong with tracking on large solar arrays?

• 1.  What's wrong with tracking on large solar arrays?

Posted 03-16-2022 08:58 AM
    I am no expert, just trying to understand.  When I see pictures of large solar arrays, the panels are stacked together in a way that would make efficient solar tracking impossible.  Tracking should allow efficient collection over a wider period of the day, thereby reducing the need for expensive storage.  Are power companies stupid?  What am I missing?

------------------------------
    Ernie Rogers
    Partner
    ernie.e.rogers@gmail.com

• 2.  RE: What's wrong with tracking on large solar arrays?

ASES Life Member
    Posted 03-17-2022 09:19 AM
    GCR -  ground cover ratio - can be deceptive when a photographer is trying to show off the panels at an angle that hides the space between.

Next time you play with https://pvwatts.nrel.gov, on "System Info" page, "Advanced Parameters", "Ground Cover Ratio:", you'll see a current default of ".4" - 40% of the ground is covered with panels. In utility scale solar, single-axis backtracking arrays are very common, and in Albuquerque, utility scale fields have used 33% coverage to maximize early morning and late afternoon energy production to better match the two daily peaks.  Land cost might push for more coverage at the expense of maximal energy production.

PVWatts includes handy "i" information buttons as a built in tutorial, thank you NREL!

Andrew Stone
    Commercial Solar Lending

• 3.  RE: What's wrong with tracking on large solar arrays?

Chapter Leader
    Posted 03-17-2022 09:20 AM