Everything Solar Forum

communities_1.jpg

View Only
  • 1.  Powerwall and single phase operation

Posted 03-15-2022 07:39 AM
    (I'm a novice to single phase.) I have a powerwall which I understand is single phase. The Tesla panel has a dual breaker labeled Powerwall and one labeled Solar.  First question is, dual breakers  look like split phase, not what I imagine single phase would be?

Second question. Is the powerwall breaker.receiving split phase from the powerwall and is the solar breaker (Solar edge se6000 inverter) feeding single phase to the powerwall? 

Third question. Those sets of breakers are next to each other. Are they on the same buss and is that buss, or just the output of the powerwall, feeding into my main house panel? 

Thanks

Nicholas Cobun

• 2.  RE: Powerwall and single phase operation

Posted 03-18-2022 04:24 PM
    US current is split-phase @220vac/60Hz nom.
    PowerWalls grid form same in off-grid mode. They use frequency shifting to signal battery state of charge or zero-export curtailment instructions.
    Hope that helped..
    Vic Aguilar
    Sustainable Energy Consultant
    NABCEP COK#081309
    (626)633-6682
    Please consider your environmental responsibility. Before printing this e-mail message, ask yourself whether you really need a hard copy.

• 3.  RE: Powerwall and single phase operation

Posted 03-21-2022 10:50 AM
     To be more accurate here - do not confuse the term "split phase" with ("double phase" - which doesn't exist). In the USA, there is ONLY single and three phase wiring systems.  Not ever a double phase.

Split phase is simply the "single phase", that has been split in half to give an overall 240 VAC difference across (2) buss bars.  There are (2) buss bars in most home systems, therefore you will see a double pole breaker (and we really should call them split phase breakers as to not confuse us with the name double phase - which as I said, doesn't really exist).